Printing in progress…

Final Brief, Local Universe

For my final brief of this year I have decided to do a series of prints that inform people about my local area. Inspired by hand drawn maps by Jenni Sparks, I’ve decided to create a print with illustrations about my local universe and then draw into these prints with written info relating to the area.

After spending a few hours in the print rooms and learning a bit more about wood block printing and how to carve the wood, I started on a simple design with illustrations depicting different aspects of London and my local area.

IMG_20160427_0001-page-001
IMG_0655

First few prints (above) After printing these with blue block printing ink, I’ve drawn into them slightly with a fine liner as I start building up my ideas. In my favourite print (below) I’ve mixed a bit of white into the blue block printing ink and then drawn into the print, Ive chosen to add Cockney Rhyme slang such as: Trouble and strife = Wife and Rosy Lea = Tea.

FMPRINT1-page-001I really like how these prints have turned out and now that I’m practicing carving wood i hope my next prints will be more detailed and have more illustrations within them. I would like to look more at hidden/unknown parts of my local universe and see if I can translate them into my prints.

Back to my research and sketchbook for now I think…

2 thoughts on “Printing in progress…

Leave a Reply

