Katie Scott / Artist Research

Final Major project, Inventivity / Level 6, Visual Research and Inspiration

One of the illustrators that I love following is Katie Scott. I first fell in love with her work on the cover of Bombay Bicycle Club’s album ‘A Different Type of Fix’ and I’ve been hooked ever since. Her work is influenced by old scientific drawing and botany so when researching for my FMP idea, a series of wok exploring Cabinets of Curiosities she was one of the first artists I looked at.


One of my favourite series of illustrations is from the ‘Animalium’ postcard book. Each card features beautifully, detailed illustrations of various plants, insects and animals.  The collections of animals really appealed to me for a few reasons, First, they are visually stunning and I love the level of detail in each illustration. Secondly, I love scientific illustrations and scientific specimen collections and this is a theme I have chosen to explore through my Cabinet of Curiosities theme for my FMP. I especially love these “collections” of animals displayed together inside a bell jar.

Part of the reason I am so drawn to these illustrations is the influence of older scientific illustrations, especially those from the 18th and 19th centuries, when we were still unsure of how to categorise all these different specimens. In a similar way, Cabinets of curiosities, were small collections of extraordinary objects which, like today’s museums, attempted to categorise and tell stories about the wonders and oddities of the natural world.

curiosity-cabinet-ryan-matthew-cohn

Example of a Cabinet of Curiosities from www.ryanmatthewoddities.com

Check out this brilliant little video of Katie Scott talking about her work and process

and if check out her website here!

Leave a Reply

