FMP / Spitalfields Market

Final Major project, Inventivity / Level 6

For my FMP I have chosen to create a series of well designed products that can be sold on a live stand. After spending a few months exploring different markets and pop up shops around London such as the Greenwich Market, Covent Garden and others, I decided that the Spitalfields market felt like the right fit for my work and ideas to flourish. So after spending a bit of time talking to people in the Spitalfields market, I got in touch with the managers and secured an interview so I could show them a selection of the work I wanted to sell.

After this it was a matter of deciding exactly what I wanted to create and what I wanted to communicate. Doing this needed a lot of researching and developing my ideas, then creating a series of well designed products. To keep myself focussed I wrote my own brief for my project.

FMP Mood Board -page-001FMP Mood Board -page-002

BIZARRE BAZAAR
Cabinet of Curiosities – Market Stall in Spitalfields Market 07/05/17

“Cabinets of curiosities, also known as ‘wonder rooms’, were small collections of extraordinary objects which, like today’s museums, attempted to categorise and tell stories about the wonders and oddities of the natural world.”

Brief

To create a series of objects and artwork following the theme of Victorian Cabinets of Curiosities, concluding in a real world application of a functional trading market stall in the world famous Spitalfields market in East London.

I have titled this project ‘Bizarre Bazaar’ with the tagline ‘Be Bizarre’

Aims

  • To tell the story of cabinets of curiosities and natural wonders of the world through functional designed items.
  • To explore curiosities of London’s history – ie: natural items found on the bank of the river Thames
  • To produce a well designed market stall and display work in the style of Cabinets of Curiosities
  • To create a brand identity for this project to live within and a manifesto to help give the project further context.

Deliverables

  • brand identity and manifesto
  • concept board including colour pallets
  • Original artwork inspired by Cabinets of curiosities
  • Functional designed work
  • Editions of prints and postcards
  • A gif to promote my stall on social media
  • A functional designed market stall and a full day of tradingOnce I had a good amount of research and development of my ideas behind me, I decided on a few items I could create, that communicated my ideas and themes effectively and also had a practical element about them. I decided on creating, coasters and tea towels that could be used practically and also decoratively, badges and prints. I chose to create these items as they could be used in a variety of different ways, the materials were cost and time effective and would look fantastic once they were finished.

    IMG_4112

As I started researching cabinets of curiosities and what items could be shown within my own cabinet, I considered the history of he city I live in and the soul of city, the river Thames. For thousands of years, the river Thames has been a place of trade, travel, leisure and a way of disposing of items, or in some cases, people.

17818619_1739921822966565_8759028021379203072_n

The river has a complicated history as I researched items that could possibly be found in the river, I found there were some incredible and mysterious items there too. I chose a number of  small items that have been found in the river Thames and spoke to people who had been murking or mudlarking along the rivers for years, to gain more understanding about the rivers history and its connection to the city.

“Mudlarking began in the 18th century, when people scavenged for things to sell. Its modern incarnation is about illuminating our past, making discoveries that add to what we know.”

Some of the items found in the river really amazed me, from fossilised shark teeth, Roman coins and pottery, Victorian bottles and musket balls and even a few antique guns. if your interested in whats to be found in the Thames, Have a look at this article from 2014 here.  And more about ancient fossils in London here.

I chose to look at primarily natural curiosities in the Thames and was drawn to the fossilised shark tooth, the fossilised Pyritised Echioceras ammonite, as well as seaweeds and jurassic insects. I then researched and sketched each element before creating a series of small, round lino prints and testing my ideas further. These prints would become the basis of my edition of 4 original artworks, badges and coasters. These elements would also feature in my work going forward.

17818920_296197947460164_3765270955069276160_n17126202_210524006094507_2879059368991522816_nIMG_4094

 

Leave a Reply

