FMP / Creating a Brand Identity

Final Major project, Inventivity / Level 6

As my FMP started to take shape, I have looked at how I can create a brand identity.

What is ‘Brand Identity’

“A company’s brand identity is how that business wants to be perceived by consumers. The components of the brand (name, logo, tone, tagline, typeface) are created by the business to reflect the value the company is trying to bring to the market and to appeal to its customers.”

Logo Design:

A large part of my FMP relates to collecting and entomology so I started by looking at the illustrations I had created for prints on my stand and picking out elements that were visually exciting as well as effectively communicating my theme and ideas. I looked first at using Lino to recreate elements of my illustrations first as a lot of my work mixes illustration and printing so I thought it might be interesting to turn an existing illustration into a print. But ultimately I didn’t feel that this captured what I wanted it to so went back to my illustrations. After some experimentation I decided to isolate one of my illustrations from my ‘Insect Bell Jar” – the Dead Head Moth.  

apwbxhgssf7jl4xhx0jg

The Dead Head Moth is a species found in Europe, the largest moth to appear in Britain, sporting a wingspan of up to 12 or 13cm, it is a striking species, though it is not a native. Immigrants arrive from southern Europe, usually several hundreds in each year, during late summer and autumn.  The species name Atropos is often related to death, derived from Atropos. Atropos was one of the three Moirai, goddesses of fate and destiny. In addition the genus name Acherontia is derived from Acheron, a river in Greece, which in Greek mythology was known as the river of pain, and was one of the five rivers of the Greek underworld. The moth is also featured in popular culture in books such as Bram Stokers ‘Dracula’ and the film, ‘Silence of the Lambs’ as the calling card of the character Buffalo Bill.

Ive chosen this Moth to be my logo design as it is a species that is often misunderstood and has a lot of folklore and meaning behind it, it appears in Britain, though its not native, its more of a passing visitor and is incredibly striking and recognisable.

I then used my chosen TypeFace to apply my brand name ‘Bizarre Bazaar’ and experimented with design and layout unit I created something which felt well balanced and visually appealing. Once I had a fully realised logo design, I started to explore how I could use this design to create a sense of continuity on my stand and bring all my different products and designs together under one brand identity and voice.

My final Design:

Bizarre Bazaar Logo design

Creating Continuity:

I decided to use my logo design to give a sense of continuity on my stand, so that all of my different products, prints and designs would feel connected to each other and to my larger brand ‘Bizarre Bazaar’. I decided to create a table cloth pattern using my logo design and have this printed. then I created a matching but larger hanging banner that would be clipped to the front of my stand. I also used my moth in different ways creating a fabric flower and pinning it to a top hat that I used as a prop on my stand.

Tag Line:

My tagline for my brand creation ‘Bizarre Bazaar’ took a bit of work. I decided to play with the repetition of the letter “B” as its repeated in my brand name. and eventually settled on ‘Be Bizarre’ as this short phrase encapsulates what my brand is all about. Love the weird parts of yourself and the world around you, Bizarre is beautiful, extraordinary, and exciting. Be Bizarre! 

moth logo with tag

Leave a Reply

